Composite image of four focus cities

"Our mission is to reduce disaster risk for the poor in tomorrow’s cities."

Tomorrow’s Cities is the UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) Global Challenges Research Fund (GCRF) Urban Disaster Risk Hub – a five-year global interdisciplinary research hub. 

Our aim is to catalyse a transition from crisis management to multi-hazard risk-informed planning and decision-making, for cities in low-and-middle income countries.

We are one of 12 UKRI GCRF Hubs funded as part of the UK AID strategy, putting research at the heart of efforts to deliver the United Nation’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Key positions within the Hub are listed below.

Vacancies

UPDATE March 2020: We currently have 4 PhD positions based at the University of Edinburgh open for applications. Along with one other position (which is now closed for applications), these 5 positions will form a unique cohort in the Hub. Please visit our vacancies page for more information.

Senior Management Team

  • John McCloskey – Co-Director – John.McCloskey@ed.ac.uk 
  • Mark Pelling – Co-Director – mark.pelling@kcl.ac.uk
  • Eliane Reid – Operations Manager – manager@tomorrowscities.org
  • Marina Apgar – Monitoring, Evaluation and Learning Manager – M.Apgar@ids.ac.uk

Operations team

  • Yasmin Luqman – Programme Coordinator – support@tomorrowscities.org 
  • Kate Watson – Finance Manager – finance@tomorrowscities.org 
  • Dave Bell – Knowledge Exchange & Monitoring Specialist – monitoring@tomorrowscities.org
  • Iain Stewart – Communications Lead – iain.stewart@plymouth.ac.uk

Hub Executive Committee

Voting members:

Non-voting members:

Secretariat:

  • Eliane Reid - Operations Manager, Managing HEC Secretariat and Board Papers
  • Yasmin Luqman – Logistics and Minutes 

Advisory Board

Research Colleges

Social Context Research College leads
  • Emily Wilkinson – Senior Research Fellow, Overseas Development Institute – e.wilkinson@odi.org.uk
  • Joanes Atela – Senior Research Fellow, African Centre for Technology Studies - J.Atela@acts-net.org 
Infrastructure for Resilience Research College leads
  • Tiziana Rossetto – Professor of Earthquake Engineering, University College London - t.rossetto@ucl.ac.uk  
  • Eser Çaktı – Professor of Earthquake Engineering, Bogazici University - eser.cakti@boun.edu.tr 
Hazard Research College
  • Ian Main – Professor of Seismology and Rock Physics – Ian.Main@ed.ac.uk 
  • Daniel Andrade – Professor, Escuela Politécnica Nacional – dandrade@igepn.edu.ec 
Risk Research College
  • Andrew Maskrey – Coordinator, Risk Nexus Initiative - andrew.maskrey@gmail.com 
  • Alex Barbat – Professor Emeritus, Technical University of Catalonia - barbat@cimne.upc.edu 

 

Contact form
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.